Tuesday’s Choice: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

I know, I know…when it says Classics on the book it is a good clue that it is a rather good read, but for some reason there are plenty of classics that I have never read or even desired to read. Our Ambleside Online booklist is showing up the gaps in my reading (did I ever actually get beyond Enid Blyton and Anne of Green Gables?) and has put so many delightful books in my path, leading me to ask how can I possibly have never read this before?!  Here is our current read which I would wholeheartedly recommend to any of you dear readers who happen to have the same gaps.

I always envisaged Wind in the Willows as being rather dull, but I have been pleasantly surprised to find it has a lovely mixture of beautiful descriptions of the best of our countryside, great characters that you can really recognise and relate to, and lots of humour and depth.  Who doesn’t know a fellow like Toad who throws himself into new activities with great zest that quickly peters out, having dragged his long suffering friends in his wake? And who wouldn’t wish for a loyal friend such as Ratty, who heads into the Wild Woods in order to find Mole who has foolishly headed there alone, or who heads back into the dark fields with snow on the way to help Mole find his home? And as our history studies take us through a sweeping look at the rise and fall of many civilisations throughout the history of time, Badger’s wise words that men come and go but that the animal kingdom carries on regardless rings true.

I am reading a chapter a week to LissaLou and she narrates back the gist of the story – she has improved greatly in this skill but is stronger on giving a detailed account rather than a short and concise one. Sometimes her narrations are so vivid that it is as good as hearing the story all over again! I don’t think she would be happy reading it to herself just yet though, as there are lots of unfamiliar words. I asked her what her verdict of it so far is and she replied great characters, like you really know them and they give a great example of being good friends. So there you have it!

5 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Choice: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

    • Thanks Missus Wookie, that sounds like a marvellous outing to put on my to do list! Coincidentally, Henley is also the favourite place of a friend of ours who so reminds me of Toad!! Now that we have three children perfectly capable of walking well, I think it is a great time to invest in that book!

  1. I have never liked books where animals speak, but you might persuade me to try , , , and yes you did get beyond Enid and Anne – there was the Chalet School series and Mandy!!

    • Ha ha, my intellectual capacity knew no end!! Not to mention Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh, but I did squeeze in a bit of Jane Austen…
      There is definitely a lot of animal talk in this one, but he managed to convince me that it was perfectly normal for them to do so, not to mention for them to have snug and cosy houses with fireplaces and door knockers. and even cellars full of beer…!

Leave a Reply

